For Residents

Collage 6

Background SpacerNicholas Log Cabin
45 Munsee Street North, Cayuga Part, Court House Grounds
Cayuga, ON

History:
Thomas Nicholas, from Fowey, Cornwall, on the banks of the
English Channel, built a log cabin ca. 1835 beside the Old Plank
Road in the former Oneida Township. As his large family grew,
a second story was added to the original one-room structure.
In 1961, the cabin was re-erected in Cayuga’s
Courthouse Park and made a permanent exhibit as part of the Haldimand County Museum and Archives.

While the Log Cabin provides the perfect setting for interpreting the struggles and rewards of pioneer life, the Museum’s artifacts supplement and enhance that experience. The archives, including a genealogy centre, augment understanding of local history in concert with the Log Cabin and the Museum.
 

Features Designated: 

  • Gabled roof covered by cedar shingles 
  • Hand hewn oak logs and sand mortar 
  • Windows (one 6-over-6, one 6-over-1 on the first floor; one 3-over-3 on the second floor) 
  • Decorative dentures supporting the roof 
  • 3 wooden doors with original hardware and hinges and the exposed log beams 
  •  
  •  Nicholas Cabin 

     

    Interior Footer

    ©Copyright 2001 - 2015, the Corporation of Haldimand County.